DYOUVILLE UNIVERSITY

6.1 UPDATES ON CURRICULUM COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP OF proposed DYU-COM

A Curriculum Committee is developing and organizing the curriculum for all 4 years of medical school. Committee members have been designing an integrated curriculum in the first two years of medical school which involve didactics, OPP/OMM lectures and labs, Foundations of Medicine labs including Simulation and Clinical Skills, Caring and Patient centered professional including case-based discussions relevant to the system being taught, and Learning consolidation including self-directed learning. The 3rd and 4th years will be clinical rotations along with Osteopathic Principles of Practice/ Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine (OPP/OMM), Learning Consolidation, Research and Residency preparation, and are being designed primarily by the Dean and Associate Dean of Clinical Education, who have DO degrees and are board-certified.

The Curriculum Committee is expected to be finalized by July 2024 when we anticipate all our Chairs to join the program. The committee and curriculum will evolve during the initial years through the first graduating class of students.

The **current** Curriculum Committee members include:

-The Dean: Dr. S. Cannon

-The Associate Dean of Preclinical Education: Dr. R. Pandit

-The Associate Dean of Clinical Education: Dr. N. Camposeo

-Chair of Pathology/Physiology: Dr. A. Ray

-Faculty in Microbiology: Dr. A. Sanyaolu

-Faculty in Biochemistry and Genetics: Dr. D. Stewart

-Director of Research: Dr. F. Damkaci

-Executive Administrator: Mrs. M. Steward

Minutes of curricular meetings are being noted and will be referred to by future members. The current members have been developing the curriculum in conjunction with members of the President's Council, who are advocates for the curriculum of various Health Professions offered by D'Youville University. In addition, we have been receiving and implementing input from the Board of Trustees and the Founders' Committee of the College of Osteopathic Medicine, which include leaders of the community of Western New York, physicians, and health professionals.

By July 2024, we will have final membership of the Curriculum Committee. In addition, students will be selected and inducted to represent the student body and student concerns once matriculation is initiated.

In addition to the current members as listed above, the **final** list of members eligible to be part of the Curriculum Committee will be:

-Chair of Anatomy: Dr. S. Khan

-Chair of OPP/OMM: Dr. J. Cukierski

-Chair of Specialty Medicine: Dr. P. Low

-Chair of Primary Care: Dr. R. Ruh

-Faculty in Physiology: Dr. K. Amla

-Faculty in Anatomy: Dr. C. Okorie

-Clinical teaching faculty and preceptors

-Student leader: Preclinical (OMS I & II)

-Student leader: Clinical (OMS III & IV)

-Administrative Assistant Preclinical/Clinical

All Chairs will be part of the Curriculum Committee. We will then select the Chair of the Curriculum Committee and 4 faculty members on a rotating basis every 3 years (can change annually depending on availability and interest). Students participating in the committee can change from year to year.